SS2000 falling off to one side on the pad

Xanax1961

Hey Guys, newbie here, I hear some allisons fall off the pad at top speed...….Then they hook, what is the remedy for this, never experienced this in a V bottom Hydrostream. If everything is balanced and not over trimmed what causes this? Motor too deep? Wrong set up? Appreciate all thoughts...…. TIA

dubmoney

I am by no means an authority on the subject, but I have hooked it 3 times twice I was crossing wakes when other waves created conditions I was not expecting, and both times I was driving to fast for the size of the wakes. The third time I was driving an arching turn aroung the bottom of an island and the back came around, this is because I am now running almost a full inch above pad, for best top speed performance. Which, leads me to the list of causes:

1. Over trimmed motor.
  2. Blow out can be caused by, exceeding the speed of the lower unit, i.e. trying to go faster than 85 mph with torque master lower, a handful of other issues contribute to blow out. Prop, skeg shape, size, blow out ring, length of case.
3. One controversial issue is the lip on the trailing edge of the pad. All boats that come out of the same mold are slightly different and handle different, depending on a number of factors, the largest in my opinion for Allison, is who and how they shaped the lip. This little feature can make a big difference in how your boat handles. .005 of an inch is all it takes to change the way the boat runs.