2008 225 pro xs vs. 250 pro xs

Blueally XB21

What are the differences between these two motors? Is it just porting and fuel curve? Any other differences? I have access to a 225 pro xs with #2 cylinder down and was thinking of rebuilding it. Just curious what it would take to make it a 250? Any thoughts from the experts?

SLOmofo

Sorry I'm in one of my moods. I'm not an expert but I've spent a few $ over the years and stuck many more engines than I'd like to count. Sawed a couple in half too. Luckily I am able to slap the stuck ones back together myself with some one else doing the machine work. The ones with windows went to the scrap yard after saying a few words over them.
Now if you find the right person and they like you, stuff can happen. There again... if they get to busy it might be a couple of years to get it back again.

dubmoney

You might ask this question on Scream and Fly. I a 90% sure the answer will be " if you want a 250, buy a 250. You will spend more money trying to make a 225 into a 250." I could be wrong, but I have never seen, a quick easy answer, like "send you computer to (insert name) and raise ports by (x) dimension and you will have 250 horsepower. There usually is a little more too it like exhaust tuner, or compression, or some other port is cut differently.

xb03

From what I was told it’s the amount of air, intake and ecm, that all the 3.0 blocks were the same. But I have not confirmed this info.

ntxwaterfowl