Right prop for 2003xb

bnajackson5

I have a 98' 2003xb with a 225 Promax on it. I want it to be fast but just as important to me is handling, quick hole shot and ride...I am mostly a fisherman that wants good performance. When purchased it had a 4-blade offshore 28 pitch Merc prop and that is okay but not great.
Please, give me your suggestions.

hullbilly

I bought a xb2003 this past summer, so I'm new to the game, but I've done a lot of research over the years of wanting an Allison. Your setup is probably the most common allison out there, so there has been a ton of discussion on props for our rigs. Spend some time using the search function at the top of the forums page. Just type in something like "best prop xb2003" and you'll get all the historical posts on this subject. I would do this on this forum and all the other forums you routinely visit ( i.e. screamandfly, fastbass, etc....) I've learned a lot doing this same thing.

I'll give you my 2 cents worth, but I haven't personally ran many props yet. Here's what I've learned from the years of reading the boards: Our boats seem to like the big ear props like the big ear merc choppers or Mazco RE3 or 4. Being that choppers are readily available used and are relatively priced lower, I think this is a good place to start.

You'll find a ton of people that love the Hoss props, both the Triton 1 and Hyperdrive. There also seems to be a big following for the Hydromotive prop too. Try as many as you can and talk to as many people as you can.