Running solo boat Empty. . No trolling motor

NOTGSXR

I know there's tons of talk about balance.. but say your boat is mostly empty except for a couple vests or other light things.... also trolling motor removed..

I can say it leans right for sure and it was especially noticeable when I broke 80.... but drove really smooth... very smooth and little input unless it was already automated lol just leaning right side low...

I am a noob.. it is an XB21 Prosport with a 250xs/1.75 and a 28 Promax. This was my 4th time out in it and really only the 2nd time I got to really make an effort to get on it.....

Is it better to learn in this condition under these circumstances?

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Thx

Dan

scj

With the weight biased to the right, it will seem easier to drive as you're constantly applying left input to the wheel for correcting chine. Keep adding weight on the left to aid the balance and you'll learn how to keep in on pad with little steering input.

GotMyAlly

I've had the opposite experience from above. All of my Allisons have seemed to drive better with weight biased to the left. May seem to lean to the left under 80, but above that point the left side starts to lift. If the weight isn't biased to the left at rest, you'll have a right lean at WOT. If I was trying to make a solo/light load run, I'd either use a bag of shot or move batts, etc. The best driving Allisons are true center steers, but sometimes I wonder how a left hand drive would do for light load runs (Stroker has built one or two like that). That would likely eliminate the need for ballast.

scj

I'm not saying they drive better, I'm saying for a beginner, it's easier to keep it on plane if the boat wants to lean right at 70 to 80 mph. That way the constant pressure to turn left helps them catch the chine walk. I always set mine a little heavier to portside as it's pretty common to run high 80's to low 90's on my outings.