? set-up xb 03 for good hole shot

xb03fs

skid planer
floatation in jackplate
allison foil or similar
smaller prop
don't keep all the weight in the back

Don't know I am a noob to allisons but these options worked in the past on past boat

bnajackson5

I have what appears to be the standard 20" midsection that came with the motor (It's a 96' and I did not buy it new. It does have 4 1" holes drilled in the midsection above the cavitation plate (area where it appears a bob's exhaust cover use to be)

chad202

What problem are you having with the holeshot? Is the engine bogging or venting too much?

bnajackson5

Trimmed all the way in it is very slow coming out of the hole. It pretty much has to be tucked or the bow rises straight up and it will almost blow out.

pickwickangler

From my experience it is mostly in the prop. Some slip way to much and for some motors some are to tight. On all my pro max's they have been way to loose and slip a lot until I had em worked.

GotMyAlly

What prop are you running? Lower pitch always helps.

Wedges can be added pretty cheap to give you more tuck...

bnajackson5

Yeah I was wondering if the prop might be the culprit. I'm running a 25 offshore (with motor when purchased) and I just picked up a 25 Trophy (not plus) and I'm going to try it next time on the water.

GFinch

With the 4 holes in the mid less exhaust is getting to the prop then it would without. This will allow the prop to bite more until you get closer to the power band of the engine. Cover two of the holes and see what happens. Some set ups the boat will just motor, like a tractor, up and out. With too much exhaust getting to the prop it will just slip.
It's all a balancing act.

bnajackson5

Update: Ran a 25 trophy yesterday. There was a significant difference in hole shot and overall performance. I plan on trying some of these other things you fellas have suggested and am open to anymore you can give.

Stace