Cranking battery specs used Bassport 250XS in lead acid and possibly Lithium

Tim Sykes

Hey guys,
When I got my ally I think the guy just stuck a cranking battery in it that was not right. What do most of you run as the cranking battery in lead acid? I do have 3 graphs too and propoles.

PS: I would also like to know if anyone is running a lithium battery as a starter as well and what AH it is

Thanks

BigRWater

I saw that some people on this and other forums were using lithium batteries for cranking these big outboards, and so I did some research again. I have not found any recommendations for cranking these big outboards. My motor has a 40 amp charging system. Supposedly the lithium battery can only tolerate such a high charging current for maybe ten minutes According to Mercury's web site your motor has a 60 amp charging system. I am not an expert, so I won't even guess how long a Lithium battery will tolerate 60 amps.

One guy told me that the lead acid batteries are factored into many of the charging system designs.

I have the smallest lead acid battery that the local battery store sells for cranking the big motor (it weighs a little under 30 pounds). With all of the electronics that I have on my boat these days, I could not find a lead acid battery that could crank and run everything else predictably.

I have a 100ah lithium 12 volt in my boat that I use to run everything else, except cranking the big motor, and the trolling motor is on a couple 36 volt lithium batteries in parallel.

I hope somebody who knows more than I know, has a different answer, because I already have the lithium 12 volt sitting in my boat.

http://www.mercuryracing.com/outboards/engines/optimax-250-sport-xs/

SLOmofo