"Golden Era" of High Performance Outboard Motors

BigRWater

I have collected and sold high end guitars for 40 plus years. The '30's are considered the "Golden Era" for acoustic guitars, while the '50's are generally considered the "Golden Era" by many for electric guitars.

Many, many great guitars (and recordings from gtrs built outside of these periods) were & are being built & played outside of these two decades.

I am new to thinking about this as it pertains to Outboard motors. After some reading, (including here) it appears to me that the 1990's might be the "Golden Era" of the high performance Outboard motors.

So my question is, as it pertains to "High Performance Outboard Motors" what might you consider the "Golden Era" and why?

Jon

Supporting Member
I would have to go with the 80's. The 2.4's are still really quick with the right setup. Something which trickled over from the 70's, but the 80's really saw the rise of, is the 3cyl yamaha for roundy round - my neighbor was the person to first break 100mph on the water with less than 100hp. There was a lot of innovation in the 80's as well, by people like the Pughs, Reynolds, Orans, etc - lots of world records which have still not been broken came from the 80's.

Boat racing was not what it is today, which is too regulated, both from the racing and viewing perspective. When I was young (in the 80's, when I was born you bunch of old hillbilly's (Hensley)), I remember watching my neighbors test boats in front of the dock. People were pushing a different envelope then. On the 4th, Budweiser would sponsor the races in Kingston, and you could park along the bluff and watch (and smell) racing all day long. What a time. Now, Budweiser can't sponsor jack in Kingston (which I realize has nothing to do with engines), and the sport has declined on the spectator side of things.