XR2001 Steering cables...

Ranger976

Can someone let me know if there is any rocket science in getting the steering cables hooked up to the wing plate pullies to the correct tension...how can I tell if they're the right tension or not..... never done it just wondering if there's any do's and dont's .....Thanks Jim

FlatOutAlly

Dayum, Jim....

First off, I have no experience with 'cable' steering. (Pinkie coined that phrase.) But weren't you riding around on a Ranger a year or two ago? Now you're looking for race cable steering setup tips? Must really suck to be you. :beer: Congrats and good luck. We will meet someday soon...

Cp

patches

thats a pretty tough one to answer on the computer. i can tell you they don't have to be very tight. thread the cables through the "deadhead clamp" and while the screws on the clamp are fairly loose pull the cable through the clamp till you get the desired tension. once you get it close 1/8" or 1/4" pulls make a difference. you should never hear any kind of creaking or straining from the hull at any contact point. if so you are way too tight. if there too loose the cables will have a very slight amount of slack around the pulleys and if you could watch them very close when you nudge the wheel you'll see the "slack" come out before the motor moves. tighten it up enough to make sure the cables aren't limp around the pulleys. sorry i couldn't be more helpful. like i said tough to answer on the computer. if it would be any help feel free to call me. erik kiser 318 560 7510

Swamp boy

Can somebody post a pic of where ya mounted the pulley to the wingplate? Just finished mine last night and wantin to double check it.

Hope ya get it figured out Ranger, I'll get ya some pics of mine once I double check this, if it'll help ya.

David

patches

here's the pics. let me know if either of ya'll need anything else