xs2003 setup ?

cdixon4950

Not new to the site but new to posting here. I have a 93 gse with a bone stock 98' 225 omc. As of now it has a bobs cone with pinned carrier, 10in hydrodynamics manual plate and a old 14x30 hoss. I'm getting alot of slip with this prop, 14 to 15 percent range. Tried going up and down on the plate with only a best of 82 @ 6200. I'm pretty new to this so any help to get these slip numbers down would be great

Thanks,
Chad

Lotus 50

A lot of records were set with Hoss props on Allys. Maybe you should talk to Hoss about that prop. Or send it to me as a paperweight.

bassracr

if it were me, i would box that prop up,and send it to dave bostic@ hoss props and make sure it s still in spec. if its not, he will bring it back the way it is supposed to be. that prop would be hard to beat "if" it is like it was when it was new. then you can concentrate on your setup and make sure your motor is running properly. in your communications with dave ,he can probably give you some pointers ,and a good baseline on your setup as well. he is very knowledgable and a great guy to deal with. good luck, have fun,be safe and enjoy your allison!

whipper

Make sure your at even with the pad with that prop. I wouldnt run that prop more than 1/4 below at the lowest. If your trim is just past nutral you should get better slip numbers at even. Whats the max rpm of your motor? Is the cone clean with no marks? Any little chips and a blunt bullet end will increase your slipage also. My guess is your to low still. To make this measurment you need a very leval boat trailer and ground. In the owners section there is a detailed instruction on how to messure your prop shaft hight.
I run lowest 1/4 below and highest even. You realy only need to be 1/4 below with trophy type props. Every other surface and semisurface will run best at even.

cdixon4950