Merucury 2.5 EFI 280, duarbility

St

Hi everyone!

How is the durability on a completely stock merc 280 if I only will be running 5000-7250 on a pleasureboat? Will it fall apart every 100 hours? I have searched the internet but couldn't find much about durability when using it as a pleasure motor completely stock.

I'm new to high performance engines (and to this sight) and just want to get a fell of what I could expect. :very happy

suicidealli

A 100-125 hours is normal between rebuilds. If your turn them over 8000 less than 100 hours, over 9000 less yet. That is what I have found using premium 100 % synthetic oil.
They will run longer, but it will be more costly when you rebuild it. The more wear on the ring the sharper the edge gets. When it gets wore, and sharp it will cut the nic coating. when the piston reaches the end, and makes the turn to go back down the ring will cut the nic..

Roy

Last edited:

chad202

I had 100 hrs on my 260 when I took it sucked up some trash in the water jacket. Felt it sticking a ring/piston so shut it down. Had it rebuilt and looked at the rings and all except the one that was bad still were gold all the way across. They looked great. Probably couldve gotten another 100 or so hrs out of them. Now I probably only had an 1 or so over 7000. I mainly just cruise 5-6k rpm.

Dave Hensley

The factory plated finish is only as good as the person operating the final honing process. A good plateau finish that was honed in reverse to get all the sharp edges knocked off will last a long, long time. Nicom or Nikasil is an art not a science. The original Mahle version was far superior to what is out there now. As Roy says rpm's make an exponiental difference in life. My money is spent with Millenium plating as there quality control is the best I have seen on the final cylinder finish. My $.02.

St