XB21 Setup question.

Fishforcash

XB21 2X2/250XS 1.62 sportmaster. Hydrolic plate +Allison skid planer factory installed.

Boat has a 27 Trophy (not sure if its cut). I have a 27 Allison Cut to try.

What propshaft height to start?

What wheel would you reccomend for all around fishing/playing

No its not my boat, good friend needs some help and I have ZERO experience with the big Ally.

Last edited:

Darth VMAX

Hey Ricky, I believe I met your friend Sunday at a gas station on 35 north of Perry (saw the boat and had to go introduce myself). He mentioned he is having some hole-shot issues and is taking things real slow.

Sorry, I have no experience either except I would love to have one of those big bassers.

RobShaw-BasSport

Not sure I can offer much help as I have the 2 seater XB21 and these hulls have different characteristics. But at first glance, I would use a smaller pitch prop. I have both sets of gear ratios and when Im running the 1:62, I use no larger than a 26 pitch prop with a 25 probably being my favorite for fishing. With the 1:75, a 27 pitch prop is a good starting point.

reward69

I have the same combo and I had the same issues with the Trophy. The 27 stock is a dog out of the hole. Modified is better, but still slow with this gear ratio. I went with a 27 Bravo1 XS, this was the pitch recommended by mercury. They say that the Bravo 1 XS will act like one pitch below so if you think you need a 26 go with a 27. This is what I have and couldnt be happier overall. Carries weight, great (no blow out) holeshot, handles awesome, good top end.... 83/87 depending on weight. I also ran a 25 trophy that was stock and worked ok as a fishing prop but the blow out on holeshot sucked. Once it got up and going it ran well. With either Mercury props I would stay between even and 1/2 above for longevity. These dont like to be run too high!

Hydromotive I hear also makes some great props, a little more money but not really if you start modifying Merc's.